Home / About
About Sled Hills
How we build the lists, what our labels mean, and how to tell us when something's wrong.
Editorial method
We searched the park districts, city parks departments, Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR) state-park pages and tubing operators we could find in all five Ohio regions. A spot made the list only when the agency or operator that runs it names it for sledding or tubing on its own website. News roundups, visitor-bureau lists and Facebook posts helped us find candidates, but they were never enough on their own.
For each of the 130 listings we saved the page and the exact sentence that supports it, and each card links that page. Our collection log records how each sentence was re-checked on October 12, 2026: for 128 listings it was re-matched automatically on its page (104 distinct pages, because some listings share a page). For the other 2 listings the operator's page blocks automated checks, so the sentence was confirmed by hand in a browser, and those cards say so. On Oct 12, 2026 we also re-fetched the pages behind every "free" label, every children's slope, every quoted guidance or hours line, and every rule we cite, and we only quote wording that was found there. We left out spots where sledding is banned or allowed only in areas the agency never names, spots an agency no longer lists, and spots only news stories mention.
What our labels mean
- Agency alerts links to the agency's alerts or closures page (40 spots). Park info links to an agency's or operator's activity page (5 spots). Neither tells us whether a hill is open today, and we don't report that.
- Published sledding guidance is what the agency says about when the hill can be used. Hours or season is what it says about times or dates. Quotation marks mean the agency's exact words; otherwise the card says it's our summary, or says "None posted". Our tip is our own advice.
- Cost. "Free" appears only where the agency says so, quoted on the card (12 spots). Where the agency doesn't say, the card says "Cost not stated". Posted prices carry their season, like "2026-27 season" or "2025-26 season". One tubing price has no season on the operator's page, so its card says "price as posted, check before you go".
- State parks. ODNR lists sledding at 30 state parks here, but for 21 it doesn't say where. Those cards say "ODNR lists sledding at this park; ask the park office which slope".
- Children's slope means the agency lists a slope for, or suited to, young or small children. The card quotes the agency's words and links the page. It's the agency's description, not a safety rating.
- Lights, shelters and restrooms appear only where the agency lists them. A missing badge means not stated, not no. We drop an amenity when the agency's own wording doesn't support it.
- Posted notices. When an agency page carries a closure notice, the card shows it, even if the notice looks old. Listings that rest on an archived agency page are labelled as archived.
- Map pins and distances. 112 spots have a map pin, and every card says what the pin marks. 91 come from US Census matches on the agency's street address (the park address) or from the agency's own point; for state parks that point is the park's center, not the hill. We placed 21 more from map points the agency publishes for the hill, or from an entrance address the agency publishes. The other 18 are described only by road or landmark, so they get written directions and aren't ranked by distance. The hill finder uses straight-line miles from US Census 2024 ZIP code centers, not driving distance.
Sources
Listings come from 46 agencies' and operators' own websites, including ODNR, Cleveland Metroparks, Columbus and Franklin County Metro Parks, Summit Metro Parks, Metroparks Toledo, Lake Metroparks, Great Parks of Hamilton County, Five Rivers MetroParks, Cuyahoga Valley National Park, many city parks departments and three tubing operators. ZIP code locations come from the US Census Bureau's 2024 ZCTA gazetteer.
How often we recheck
The Ohio list was checked on October 12, 2026. We plan to recheck tubing prices in November, when resorts post the new season, and to keep adding spots as agencies list them. Several city parks sites block automated checks, and we'll add their hills after checking them by hand.
Corrections
If you run a park or spot a mistake, email hello@sledhills.com with the spot's name and a link to where the correct information is posted. We fix verified errors and never charge for a listing or a correction.
Privacy
We don't ask for accounts or collect your name or email. The ZIP code you type in the hill finder stays in your browser and is never sent to us. Read our full privacy policy.
Who makes this
Sled Hills is published by North Coast AI LLC in Ohio. The lists were built with AI assistance and reviewed by Bill Burkey.